©2019 Categories to Come                                                                                                  Imprint & Data Protection

Foto André Wunstorf

 

HELP CONDUCT RESEARCH

 

Questionnaire

Foto André Wunstorf

Join the conversation

What do you think about different words?

Read other people’s words and definitions on Instagram or Twitter, and tell us what springs to mind. We want to know what you think about these words, and to translate them into other languages. You can help! 

 
 

About the project

Research into language and sexuality

The first step in research is to name or describe what is being investigated. The way we speak about sexuality is affected by the values and morals of our society. And that discussion is generally shaped by social taboos.

In part because of these taboos, it’s safe to assume that the sexual fantasies and practices of individuals are far more varied than those that society puts into words. This means that there are aspects of sexuality that are inaccessible (or only accessible with a delay) to researchers studying linguistic usage. It also means that our sexual vocabulary is smaller than it otherwise could be.

The artistic research project Categories to Come combines artistic and academic research interests. We invite everybody to contribute their own terms and definitions, to reflect on and describe their own sexuality. Participants can help to design the sexual vocabulary of the future, and to identify new directions for the research field.

The collected terms will be organized and made available as a database to researchers and to members of the public. 

 

Network

Partners

schweizforscht_logo_de.png
Logo Buergerschaffenwissen.png
Johanna Barnbeck_logo-schwarz.png

©2019 Categories to Come                                                                                                  Impressum & Datenschutz

Foto André Wunstorf

 

Mitforschen

 

Fragebogen

Foto André Wunstorf

Mitdiskutieren

Was fällt dir zu den Begriffen ein?

Lies dir auf Instagram oder Twitter die Begriffe und Definitionen anderer durch und beschreibe, was dir dazu einfällt. Wir möchten mehr darüber erfahren, was Du über die gefundenen Worte denkst und sie auch in andere Sprachen übersetzen. Hilf uns dabei! 

 
 

Über das Projekt

Forschung zu Sexualität und Sprache

Um etwas zu erforschen, muss es in Worte gefasst oder als Phänomen beschrieben werden. Wie in einer Gesellschaft über Sexualität gesprochen wird, hängt von sozialen und religiösen Wertvorstellungen ab und unterliegt meistens verschiedenen gesellschaftlichen Tabus.

Unter anderem aufgrund dieser Tabus kann davon ausgegangen werden, dass die individuell praktizierte und fantasierte Sexualität vielfältiger ist, als die in Worten erfasste. Dies bedeutet, dass es Aspekte der Sexualität gibt, die aus dem Sprachgebrauch nicht oder nur mit Verzögerung in den Forschungskontext gelangen. Aber auch, dass uns weniger Vokabeln zur Verfügung stehen, als möglich wären.  

Das künstlerische Forschungsprojekt „Categories to Come“ verbindet künstlerisches und wissenschaftliches Erkenntnisinteresse. Bürger*innen sind eingeladen ihre eigenen Begriffe und dazugehörigen Beschreibungen einzubringen, ihre eigene Sexualität zu reflektieren und zu beschreiben. Sie gestalten aktiv das künftige sexualsprachliche Vokabular mit und geben der Forschung wichtige Impulse.

Die gesammelten Begriffe werden systematisiert und über eine Datenbank wieder der Öffentlichkeit, aber auch der Forschung zur Verfügung gestellt. 

 

Netzwerk

Kooperationspartner

schweizforscht_logo_de.png
Logo Buergerschaffenwissen.png
Johanna Barnbeck_logo-schwarz.png